Money Tree

Remember when you were a kid and your parents always said money doesn’t grow on trees?  I am in my thirty’s and I am still wishing we could have a money tree in our backyard.  If it is not one thing, it is another when it comes to money.

I have always stressed about money.  I have made so many budgets in my day but have always failed.  Well, I can tell you a budget will not work if you don’t even give it a try.  My poor husband has been along for the ride as I have made us try so many things.  Most of the time we didn’t have a budget.  We have tried writing down all our expenses for tracking.  We have tried the envelope system by using an app on our phones.  I have written down budgets and never enforced them.  We had Alex and now have a big hospital bill.  I decided we needed to try the envelope system again, but this time follow Dave Ramsey’s advise and use cash.  I left money in our account for our bills that I pay online.  I subtracted that from how much our paychecks were and then had Paul go to the bank.  Dave Ramsey says to allocate money into different categories.  We left it all in one big envelope.  The theory is that once the cash is gone, it’s gone.  There is no going to the bank to pull out more.  Let me tell you, this is the first time that a budget has worked and we have stuck to it for several months now.  It sure makes you think about your purchases when you literally see the cash disappear from the envelope.  I still want to track our purchases, so we get a receipt for everything and put it in the envelope.  At the end of the two weeks, I will enter it into an excel spreadsheet so we can still see where we are spending our money.

It has been so nice these past couple months.  I do not feel stressed about money nearly as much anymore.  I do not need to wait to pay a bill because that money has already been set aside for all the bills due for that paycheck.  We had car repairs this past month.  I normally would have been upset by having the added expense.  Because we have been so good at sticking to our budget we had the cash to pay for the repair.

Money is such a touchy subject for so many people.  What works for one person may not work for another.  Keep trying and searching for something until you can find something that works for your family.  Once you do you will be much more happy at being in control of your finances.  Make sure whatever you do, you set aside a little to have fun with.  You need to be able to reward yourself every once in a while.

Make today great!

Jen

 

Leave a Reply

