Smoothie Life Hack

As you know, I love my protein shakes in the morning after my workouts.  They are delicious and a great way to get my protein.  I have had just protein powder with milk or water before.  Not my cup of tea.  I prefer my protein powder mixed with something in the blender.

My favorite that I have been making lately is chocolate protein powder, banana, peanut butter, milk and ice.  I am trying to eat more veggies these days.  I have added spinach.  It really doesn’t change the flavor which is nice.

This week I decided to give kale a try.  I read if you freeze kale, it will lessen the taste.  Remember, blend your greens first with your liquid before adding the rest of the ingredients.  It will help so you don’t have chunks of veggies too big. I cannot really taste the kale in the shake, but it is a little more chunky than spinach.

Also, instead of using ice, freeze your bananas! You won’t have to make as many trips to the store midweek for bananas.  I am a little picky when it comes to bananas.  I do not like them too ripe.   I buy a big bunch and freeze them in a bag Sunday which really helps.  Plus, it will change the texture of your shake.  Paul says it reminds him of a Wendy’s frosty.  I wash and reuse my bags to keep the cost down.  It will also save time in the morning since everything is all ready to go for you.  I mix Paul’s frozen strawberries and bananas in the same bag so I can grab and go.

I hope this helps!

Jen

Leave a Reply

