Be Thankful

I was driving home last night.  I noticed an ambulance with it’s lights on get on the road in front of me.  I had two thoughts:  I prayed for the family and I thought this would cause my drive to take longer.

Ever since my step-dad had a stroke in 2009 I have always said a quick prayer when I see an ambulance.  It doesn’t matter if the lights are on or not.  I say a prayer for them to make it where they are going safely and to give the family peace during this time.

I just realized yesterday after years of doing this that I never pray for the patient, but for their family.  How odd, I know.  But I have been that family member in the waiting room while my loved one was having surgery.  It is such an unsettling time.  I do not wish that upon anyone.

So, I always ask they have peace during this time.  Even if for just a moment.

The second was that I was going to get to daycare a few minutes later than normal.  I thought about it for a second and then realized how selfish that is.  I should be grateful that I am not in the ambulance.  What is a few extra minutes in relation to having your world turned upside down.

I feel I am not alone in thinking about being late.  If only we could realize that train of thought and take a moment to be thankful for what we have instead of stressing about being late to where we are going.

We are in a hurry to get everywhere these days.  We need to stop and smell the roses and appreciate all that has been given to us.  Appreciate the wonderful people in our life.

Stop stressing about the car we don’t have. Or about the bigger house that we think we need.  None of that is important if you have a roof over your head, food on the table, and clothes on your back.

Be grateful for the people in your life and tell them every day.

Make it a great day,

Jen

4 thoughts on “Be Thankful”

  1. Very nicely put Jen! We often find ourselves thinking about the wants in life, not the “what we already have”. Great read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

