Hydrangea cupcakes

IMG_0023

I had such high hopes for this post.  I have been looking at these cupcakes for days, waiting to make them.  I wanted to take several pictures of the step by step process for you.  But, life had other plans.

My sister called me yesterday at 7am.  She rarely called, and has never called that early in the morning.  I knew something was wrong.  My stepdad was admitted to the hospital the night before due to an infection.  To make things worse, my mom was out-of-town.

I don’t know why, but this time really got to me.  I kept tearing up at work, I couldn’t concentrate.  At one point when I thought I was ready to talk about it I was shaking at one point.  I ended up leaving work a little early so I could run to the hospital to see him before I picked up Alex from Daycare.

He looked a little tired, but otherwise was doing good all things considered.  I was still foggy headed and my body was beaten and exhausted from the day and it was only 2:30pm in the afternoon.

Paul was at work all day, so it would be just me taking care of Alex.  I knew I had to do something to get out of the funk.

I have a couple of outlets when I get stressed, two of them involve food.  I am an eater, always have been, always will be.  And I eat when I am stressed.  We are not talking about salads and fruits, we are talking about whatever junk I can get ahold of.  After the hospital I needed to eat quick, enter Ramen noodles.  There goes all the work I did this morning with leg day.  All sodium and no protein.

I also have baked when stressed.  I had an hour, I could get a quick batch done.  It helped distract me.  I needed to make them to feel accomplished.  I needed them to turn out good.  I tried a new recipe for both cupcake and frosting.  I was very happy with the cupcake!

IMG_0025

It helped lift my spirit, I was less foggy.  I will admit after decorating a couple, I realized they were still warm.  I didn’t let the cupcakes cool completely after they came out of the oven.  I took them out of the pan and started piping frosting, Opps!!!  I was worried about the frosting melting, but it did alright.

IMG_0021

Overall, I am happy with them and was thankful they did the trick to help me mentally make it through yesterday.

Make it a great day,

Jen

Leave a Reply

