Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I feel like cupcakes are becoming my go to for baking these days.  They are easy for me to do with Alex playing nearby.  I don’t need to concentrate 100% on them, can stop in the middle if needed, and they do not take up much time at all.

I was going to try a new chocolate cupcake recipe, but decided against it for time purposes.  It would have required melting butter on the stove, then mixing for 4-5 minutes before adding additional ingredients.

I decided against that and used the chocolate recipe that I normally use instead from Bakerella.  It is quick and easy.  Mix dry ingredients, add wet ingredients, mix, add water, mix and done.  One bowl recipe.

IMG_0030

I made my normal buttercream frosting but tweaked it a little to make it mint.

Mint Frosting:

1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup shortening

1/4 – 1/2 tsp mint extract

4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup water

Mix butter, shortening and extract till smooth.  Alternate adding sugar and water, ending with sugar till blended.  Mix on medium high for an additional 2 minutes or so.

This will frost 24 cupcakes

17626661_10155164991584878_4868432334249849949_n

I am trying to find ways for us to give back to the community.  So, this morning Paul will bring a dozen cupcakes to our church staff.

IMAG0610

Make it a great day,

Jen

Leave a Reply

