Runner Series 04/27/17

Today’s run was 3.5 miles on the treadmill.  I am not a fan at all of treadmill running, but it has to be done.  It is dark out at 4:45 am when I start my run, so I stay indoors.  It is also chilly in the mornings, and I don’t feel like dealing with the cold at this time.

Running is more mental than physical.  You need to train your mind for the longer miles just as much as you need to train your legs.

Treadmill running is worse for this.  Think about it.  You could go out for a 6 mile run.  You could have a bad run (we all have them) and want to be done.  You can’t be done running if you are 3 miles from home.  But if you are on the treadmill and want to be done with 3 miles to go, all you have to do is step off.  It takes so much more to stay motivated and focused on the machine.  You don’t have Mother Nature to distract you.  You are constantly starting at the time.  And for me, I am thinking about how much time I have left before I have to get ready for work.  So, here is my fix for the time.  Put on an album, today was Taylor Swift’s Red.  Put something over the display on the treadmill and just run.  I sometimes count songs to guesstimate where I am at for time.  Or I say two more songs then I will check the time etc.  Or if you are at the gym, find something to watch on the tv.  The previous gym I went to had the tv build into the treadmill which was nice.  I had to train for a half marathon on that treadmill, so it was nice to find a movie on Saturday mornings to zone out to.  I could never hear it, but I would turn on the closed caption and still listen to my music.

The best advice for running is find what works for you.  What works for me, may not work for you.  Do you run before work, or after?  Do you eat something before, or take a gel pack?  We are all different, but the outcome is the same.  The great feeling you have of accomplishing your run for the day, no matter what the mileage was.

Make it a great day,

Jen

Leave a Reply

