PVPP method for wood sign

I tried the PVPP (paint, vinyl, paint, peel) on a wood sign this time.  As I was looking into it, I found two different ways for the end.  The first is to peel the vinyl when the paint is wet, and the second is to peel when the paint has dried.  I thought I would do a quick test run to see if I could see a difference or if I preferred a certain way over the other.

I found both worked pretty well for me.  For me, I decided I would peel when it was mostly dry, to avoid unwanted smudging of the paint.

IMAG0987

I followed Melissa’s tutorial for the method.  It is pretty basic.  Paint your board the color you want the letters to be.  For my sign, that was white.  Two coats worked for me.

I cut out my words with my silhouette and attached them to the board with clear contact paper.  Then I painted over the letters with white again.  This is to help the color not to bleed.

IMAG0991

Once that is dry, then paint the whole board your base color, for me that was orange.  If you want a full color look, I would recommend two coats.  I only did one coat here as I wanted it to be imperfect.

IMAG0992

Here is where you would either peel the vinyl right away or wait till it was dry to peel.  I waited 20 minutes when it was almost dry and peeled the vinyl off.

IMAG0993

The next morning when it was fully dried, I took a piece of sand paper and lightly sanded the whole board.  You can also put a layer of sealer on at this time as well.

IMAG0996

It really is pretty easy, just has multiple steps.  Give it a shot and let me know how it goes!

Make it a great day,

Jen

One thought on “PVPP method for wood sign”

Leave a Reply

